“The Jose Reyes Project”

Just how much are the Mets willing to gamble on Reye's legs?


Thank me later, Mets...you have enough on your plate, so I figured I'd toss you guys 
a bone. Hey, you've been good to me with SNY,  it's the least I can do.
Jose Reyes:Electric.Dynamic.Enigmatic.Add it up, and you have one very difficult 
negotiations on your hands. Here's where I come in...for every dilemma there is a 
solution, so with that in mind, here's how I would handle the Reyes situation--if 
it's my team. Factoring in all of the economic conditions and circumstances of the 
organization: 3 years, $75 million. I appeal to Reyes' desire to remainin NY by 
overpaying per year, placating his ego as an elite player be focusing on yearly 
compensation. This also allows me to control my long term finances by avoiding
a 6,7 year deal, and also, simultaneously prove to my fans, that we are not 
overseeing a garage sale. I play both sides, and I treat Reyes like the best player 
in the game, while also attempting to clean up my own backyard. If he agrees to 
the deal, and the financial situation worsens, I could always trade him next season, 
with 2 plus years to go on his deal, ensuring top prospects in return. 
Win/win.
Now David Wright, that's an entirely different set of circumstances, and quite 
frankly, I need a little more time figuring this one out.
I'll drop you a line when I come up with a definitive answer.

					
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

